“Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Original Screenplay” by JK Rowling

FantasticBeasts

artemisiconI wasn’t going to review this, and because of that, I gave the book back before taking a picture. And today I was thinking about what book to do, and thought, maybe I will write about this one.

I’m not saying I wasn’t going to write about it because it was bad, on the contrary, it was really good. I wasn’t going to do it because it was a published screenplay.

I think by now, anyone reading this review has seen the movie. If you haven’t, and you were planning on it, you might not want to read this.

The thing that I found really interesting about this book, is that I think it’s published on the assumption that those reading it have seen the movie. I think without that background, this would be a really confusing read. Settings are in a blurb at the beginning of a scene, but in minor detail. Nothing is given in great detail, it’s mostly just enough to give the rest of the staff a rough idea of what they’re aiming for. So, as a reader, and not the crew, it’s a very odd experience reading it. I think there were a few extra scenes in the screenplay that didn’t end up in the movie, but there were also parts that were given in greater detail. So, even though I saw the movie, reading the scene made me go “ooooooh!” sometimes. Even relationships seemed more explained so the actors knew what to portray, so it was fun seeing exactly what they were supposed to be doing.

Aside from that, I can’t really talk on the plot/style/etc without directly comparing the movie because the book is technically, for all intensive purposes, in point form. But that doesn’t make it less of a good read. I blew through the book in 2 days, but that’s standard typical for me. And there is beautiful artwork throughout the books of all the fantastic beasts. For myself, I think reading the screenplay enriched the movie, because it explains things that the movie might have skimmed over and since it leaves out all the decorative words of standard novels, you see things and places for what they are.

It follows the movie exactly (obviously) from Newt traveling to New York, the Niffler getting loose, meeting Jacob (A no-maj), the second Salem group, attacks from an invisible creature, and so on. So naturally, the plot was well done, and an amazing introduction back into the World of Harry Potter.

If you’re a Harry Potter fan, I think this would be a worthwhile book! If not a fan, or just have a passing interest, there may not be anything in this book for you (unless you are interested in screenplays, because this leaves in all the filming lingo).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

